Congratulations to The Policy Challenge Winners and Finalists!


WINNER: Open-Source R&D Investment in Assessment Technology
David Nitkin - MA Candidate in Economics & Education
Lauren McDade - MA Candidate in Politics & Education
Teachers College, Columbia University

FINALIST: Foreign Students Fostering Innovation in the U.S. Labor Market - Removing the "Intent to Return" Clause
Heath Brown, PhD - Assistant Professor
Paul "Chip" Palamattam - MPA/MA International Relations Student
Smijai Peter - MPA/MA International Relations Student
Alejandro Rodas - MPA/MA International Relations Student
Subarna Saha - MPA/MA International Relations Student
David Smith - MPA/MA International Relations Student
College of Arts & Sciences/John C. Whitehead School of Diplomacy & International Relations
Seton Hall University

FINALIST: Community Compost Collectors - Turning Waste Into Food
Kathleen Walston Pagan, AICP - Senior Planner, Alachua County Growth Management
Chris Cano - Business Entrepreneur, Gainseville Compost
Ryan Gruanke - MS Student, School of Natural Resources & Environment, University of Florida
Input from staff of Alachua County Sustainability & Waste Alternatives


WINNER: Incentivizing Utility Solar System Leasing Programs
Sam Shannon - MPA Student
Sam Harms - MPA Student
Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin - Madison

FINALIST: SOLARCONNECT -An Online Social-Media Platform to Reduce the Information Costs for Propsective Adopters of Residential Solar PV
Varun Rai, PhD - Assistant Professor of Public Affairs & Mechanical Engineering
George McGuirk - Masters Student in the Energy & Earth Resources Program
Alaina Heine - Undergraduate Student in International & Global Studies
University of Texas - Austin


WINNER: A New Dimension of Service to the Country
Nathan Anspach, MA, FACMPE, FACHE - Senior VP of Physician Network & Accountable Care
Caryn Unterschuetz, MHI, RN-BC - Educational Consultant & Organizational Development
Nancy Sherman - Director of Network Finance
John C. Lincoln Health Network

FINALIST: Utilizing Web-Based Tools to Manage Chronic Illness in the Medicaid Population
Jamille Fields - JD/MPH-HP Student
Natalie Stoltz - JD/MPH-HP Student
School of Law/School of Public Health, Saint Louis University

FINALIST: The Sterling Choice Five Year Healthy Lifestyle Program Reduced Cardiac Operative Procedures
Stanley Wolfe, MD FACC - Preventative Cardiologist, St. John Macomb Hospital; Founder & Director, Sterling Choice
Patricia DeGrazia, RN - Cardiovascular Nurse & Diertor of CV Services, Grace Hospital; Nutrition Educator, Sterling Choice
Ruth Savoy-Moore, PhD - Director of Biomedical Investigation & Medication Education, St. John Hospital & Medical Center
Marlaina Dixson - Exercise Physiology Specialist, Sterling Choice